Gluten free brunch – Shakshuka take 2

So… it’s been a while. I have moved countries (again) and am back in Johannesburg – very grateful for the sun, but missing the concept of UK central heating especially this week with an unusual morning of snow. My flat is not built for ‘real feel’ -6 degrees. But I digress…I have decided it is time to get the blog back up and running, and this will be partly my adventures in baking/desserts, maybe some favourite meals, and my thoughts about living back in South Africa as a coeliac – I am acutely aware this time of how much harder it is to be a gluten-free here, especially when it comes to eating out – sometimes that is an experience in itself.

But with this weather, I was musing about Shakshuka (a naturally gluten-free meal) and specifically the Shakshuka I used to get at Leon in England. It was just perfect, and although there was no gluten-free bread I would have it with hash browns (adapt or die is my life mantra). I could talk about Leon for hours (and probably might do a post just about them) but for now it’s all about the Shakshuka.        

This dish has North Africa/Middle Eastern heritage (the origin seems to be a little disputed) and is poached eggs in a sauce of tomatoes, olive oil, peppers, onion, garlic and various spices such as cumin, paprika, chilli and cayenne pepper.  Leon describes their shakshuka as two freshly packed free-range eggs in a chilli and paprika-spiced tomato sauce, topped with garlic aioli, sumac and fresh herbs. It’s the garlic aioli that does it for me! Below is a recipe that I have used to make this at home.

Ingredients
1 medium onion, diced
1 red bell pepper, seeded and diced
4 garlic cloves, finely chopped 
2 tsp paprika
1 tsp cumin
½ tsp chilli powder
1 can whole peeled tomatoes (recipe says a 28-ounce tin which is close to 800ml/grams)
6 large eggs
salt and pepper to taste
1 small bunch fresh cilantro, chopped
I small bunch fresh parsley, chopped

Directions
Heat olive oil in a large sauté pan on medium heat. Add the chopped bell pepper and onion and cook for 5 minutes or until the onion becomes translucent.
Add garlic and spices and cook an additional minute.
Pour the can of tomatoes and juice into the pan and break down the tomatoes using a large spoon. Season with salt and pepper and bring the sauce to a simmer.
Use your large spoon to make small wells in the sauce and crack the eggs into each well. Cover the pan and cook for 5-8 minutes, or until the eggs are done to your liking.
Garnish with chopped cilantro and parsley.

To deal with this Shakshuka need recently I have ordered online for delivery (which came with hummus which I thought was a great idea), bought a ready-made sauce and also have made it from scratch. But adding that aioli is now something that needs to be included, alongside some hummus and gluten-free flatbread (and in South Africa I will be making that flatbread myself – best I find a recipe).

Also a shout out to the Shakshuka at Megan’s for visual appeal!

Visit:

https://leon.co/

megans.co.uk

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.