The Bugle Hand Crafted Burger

Hello all. I see that it has been over a year since my last post. I feel this is a symptom of continued lockdown and then the horror of grey that is the English Winter. I may have grown up here but I think living in the Southern Hemisphere for many years has re-programmed my DNA to need sun and light; and the sky here (grey marl is a good word to use I feel) is just not playing ball. But today there was sun and I stood outside and stared, begging the serotonin to hit me! And here I am about to talk about food so something good must be happening.

Last Thursday (after another vaccine – the life of the immune compromised is a topic for another day) we quickly had an early lunch, so not that full yet which was good for me, at the Bugle Inn in Twyford. Chef Lenny Carr-Roberts was recently on Saturday Morning with James Martin cooking a Mediterranean fish stew so it has to be good right? Said stew was on the menu but whenever I have the option of a gluten-free burger I will take it.  The Bugle Hand Crafted Burger came with smoked bacon, Monterey Jack cheese, pickles, lettuce, tomato and skinny fries.  There was a gluten-free roll for me but apart from that the meal was the same which is great. Nothing worse than you can have the meal gluten-free but you get some other little attempt of a burger and your meal looks nothing like the original. And I can confirm the roll was gluten-free, the burger was rather large and took me a while to get through and the bottom of the roll started to disintegrate (a sure sign of gluten-free lol).

Feast your eyes on the fries!

And next time (and their will be a next time because it was good) it might be the turn of the Mediterranean Fish Stew, or Slow Roasted Lamb Shank à la Provençale might win the day (grey marl dependent of course).    

But wait there’s more, the same chef has opened a fish and chip eatery in Winchester which has gluten-free options, so Shoal is definitely next on my list. Stay tuned.    

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.